RapidWeaver – The Missing iWeb

Ever since Apple introduce iWeb I have been enjoying the simplicity and ease of use in creating elegant and beautiful web pages for my photo albums and my site. The assorted templates included with the application are really great and reflect Apple’s dominance in the area of great design.

What seems to be lacking in iWeb is the ability to fine tune and control the HTML code that it produces. There is no easy way to edit the HTML code within iWeb and you have to export the web pages and edit them in TextPad or your favorite text editor. This kinda sucks…

Enter RapidWeaver. This is a great little program for $40 that mimics iWeb (somewhat). but allows you to edit the HTML code and add HTML code within the application. It has great templates for Blogs, Photo Albums, Contact Forms, Movie pages, simple HTML pages and Business sites. Their template designs are quite nice (though not quite Apple yet :-). I like the way you can link together pages within a site quite simple. It also integrates quite nicely with your iLife apps and you can drag and drop picture, songs and movies from iPhoto, iTunes and iMovie through the iMedia browser palette.

I have been quite happy purchasing it (and I got 20% off becuase i used a MacSanta coupon) and I highly recommend it to basic and advanced users for creating their websites. I will put up some websites created in RapidWeaver sometime soon for you to view…

